Thread: Balancing Bass Lines w/Kick Drums

Balancing Bass Lines w/Kick Drums

Thanks for your participation.

I am new to production. Been on Logic for about a year and had no experience prior to that. So basically I am in the common beginners rut where I get things about 80-85% finished. It seems to be all the minutia in production that prevents me from finishing something.

The biggest issue for me right now, is finding the balance between all things creating the low end. Can you give any tips on how to find a good balance between your kick and your bass line and any thing else that is creating low end? I sort of blindly adjust levels, trying to find a balance. But I always seem to sacrifice one for the other. If I get the punch I want in my kick I lose the fatness I want in my bass line. If I find the fatness in my bass line I lose the punch in my kick.

I've been playing with Side Chaining and compression. Ethan Made a very helpful post regarding that in an older thread in the production forum. But still don't really know what I am doing and am et to produce with confidence a Kick and Bass Line suitable for a clubs sounds system.

Of course any other anecdotes regarding your bass line or bass drum/kick techniques would be appreciated.

The rules:

big boomy kick? then you have to use a mid rangy bass with the extreme low end rolled off to give that kick space.(subtractive eq is your friend here)

Subby bass? well then vice versa.. use a short kick with plenty attack and watch that decay and extreme low end (subtractive eq is your friend again)

now to find the right sweet spot......